TSS - Massachusetts Domestic Violence Leave Act

Massachusetts Domestic Violence Leave Act

Rate this Article (Average Rating: 0) Show Properties
First Published  :Tue Aug 18 13:11:25 GMT 2015
Last Modified  :Tue Feb 06 20:46:38 GMT 2018
Last Published  :Tue Feb 06 20:46:38 GMT 2018
Summary :  Provides a description of this State of MA action for employees

Response

Primary Information

    Employees may take up to 15 days of unpaid leave to address the effects of domestic violence and abuse.  Employees may apply up to 5 sick leave days and may choose to use any accrued vacation, personal or bonus days for the remaining 10 days, or take those remaining days unpaid.  These include days for medical attention, counseling, victim services, legal assistance, to secure housing, obtain protective orders, meet with law enforcement, attend child custody proceedings or other issues directly related to the abuse behavior against the employee or the employee's family member.  Employees are required to use their accrued paid time off before taking unpaid domestic violence leave.  There is no wait period of employment to qualify for this type of leave of absence.  Domestic Violence Leave Act time can  be taken intermittently.

Related Information

Information

Keywords

    unpaid leave, MDVLA, G.L.c.149 § 52E